What’s the Deal with this Pop-up?

Ben Acker

Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 1.17.13 PM

Since the beginning of this school year, many students have been seeing this pop-up.

 

Seem familiar? The pop-up asks for an administrator’s username and password in order to make changes, and usually pops up several times in a row. So, what is this? And how can Duxbury students get it to go away?

According to the Duxbury Public Schools Technology Department, this is just a scheduled update by Apple. The only solution to this is to come down to tech and have them enter the information, for now. Don’t fret, it’s a quick and easy fix.

This pop-up is not to be confused with this other pop-up by Securly://.

Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 2.06.42 PM

This one only pops up in browser, and requires a sign in. It comes up significantly less often, but still appears to happens after every computer restart.

According to Mr. Forish, the Help Desk Assistant from tech, this is “An update by the school for better internet security measures for both students and teachers.” It’s just a filter to make sure nobody is doing anything that would be inappropriate for school. It’s mostly the same as previous internet security measures.

There does not seem to be a way of avoiding this log-in after each restart, so we’ll just have to deal with it.

Leave a Reply